In this short tutorial, I will help you out on how to refresh the 'missing permission' on your connected Facebook and Google accounts so your reviews can be automatically updated.

First things first, the missing permissions can occur when you change your password on your Facebook or Google account or If any privacy changes are made. Then automatically you lose access to all third-party platforms such as EmbedSocial.

In order for us to keep your widgets updated and also to be able to create new widgets from the posts from your social accounts, we always need active permissions.

To get started:

1. First go to the 'Social Accounts' page here:

As you can see on the screenshot, there is an indication that there are missing permissions, so to refresh them, just click the highlighted 'Refresh token' button next to your Facebook Account (as on the screenshot above).

2. You will be redirected to Facebook, to re-give the permissions and re-activate your account again.

Please note that you will need to be logged in with the same Facebook account that is missing the permissions in order to refresh them.


Once missing permissions are refreshed, the missing reviews (*reviews that were not generated during the time when there were missing permissions) will appear in the widget in about 24 to 48 hours again.

If you would like to refresh the permissions on your connected Google account, you will need to follow the same steps as for the refreshing permissions on your connected Facebook account:

  1. Go to the 'Social Accounts' page inside your EmbedSocial profile:

  2. Then click on the 'Refresh token' button next to your Google account

Once you do that you will be redirected to Google, to re-give the permissions and re-activate your account again.

Please note that prior to refreshing the permissions on your Google account you will need to be logged in with the same Google account that is missing permissions.

You will know that your accounts are successfully connected when you see the icon 'Missing permissions' change to 'connected' (see the screenshot below).

If you have any questions or need additional assistance, please feel free to reach out to us on our live chat or send us an email at support@embedsocial.com

We're happy to help.

Did this answer your question?